1st Philippine National Children’s Book Awards

Adarna House, Rusell Molina, and Jomike Tejido won multiple honors at the Philippines’ 1st National Children’s Book Awards (NCBA) held last July 24, 2010 at Mandarin Oriental Hotel in Makati City. Three of the six books cited were published by Adarna House, two were written by Molina, and two were illustrated by Tejido, including one that he also wrote.

The winning books are: Araw sa Palengke (Adarna House) written by May Tobias-Papa and illustrated by Isabel Roxas; Tuwing Sabado (Lampara Books) written by Russell Molina and illustrated by Sergio Bumatay III; Can WeLive on Mars (Adarna House) written by Gidget Roceles-Jimenez and illustrated by Bru; Lub-Dub, Lub-Dub (Bookmark) written by Russell Molina and illustrated by Jomike Tejido; Tagu-Taguan (Tahanan Books) written and illustrated by Jomike Tejido; JustAdd Dirt (Adarna) written by Becky Bravo and illustrated by Jason Moss.

One of the winning authors, Gidget Roceles-Jimenez, is a member of the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators (SCBWI).

Adarna House. Founded in 1980, Adarna House is the Philippines’ first and largest publisher of children’s books. Its roots go back to the Aklat Adarna book series that supplemented the mental feeding program of the Nutrition Center of the Philippines in the 1970s. Today, it is the leading publisher of storybooks for children and manuals for parents, teachers, and daycare workers.

Russell Molina. Russell works in an advertising agency. He also loves to write, draw, and create stories for children. Some of his published children’s books are Ang Lumang Kumot ni Lola; Uuwi Na Ang Nanay Kong Si Darna; Sandosenang Kuya; Ako si Kaliwa, Ako si Kanan; Ang Madyik Silya ni Titoy; Lola Puti; and Sampu Pataas, Sampu Pababa.

Jomike Tejido. Jomike is an architect, a painter, and a children’s writer and illustrator. The first children’s book that he illustrated is Abot Mo Ba Ang Tainga Mo? by Heidi Abad. He also illustrated The General by Kitkat Roces, and Musician for the Filipino Church by Lin Acacio Flores. Other children’s books that he wrote and illustrated include Dindo Bodindo and Ang Pambihirang Sombrero.

The NCBA is given by the National Book Development Board (NBDB) and the Philippine Board on Books for Young People (PBBY). For the 1st NCBA, the organizers considered books published in 2008 and 2009. A total of 131 books were nominated.

The National Book Development Board (NBDB) is the government agency mandated to develop and support the Philippine book publishing industry. It is run by a Governing Board chaired by Dr. Dennis T. Gonzalez and a Secretariat with by Atty. Andrea Passion-Flores as Executive Director.

The Philippine Board on Books for Young People (PBBY) is a non-profit volunteer organization composed of sectoral representatives from the Philippine children’s book industry. It has representatives for children’s book publishers, booksellers, children’s writers, children’s illustrators, children’s librarians, educators, research, and mass media. It started as the Philippine branch of the International Board on Books for Young People (IBBY) based in Basel, Switzerland. Every year, on the 3rd Tuesday of July, the PBBY takes the lead in celebrating National Children’s Book Day (NCBD) in the Philippines. The date commemorates the publication of Dr. Jose Rizal’s retelling and illustrations of Ang Pagong at ang Matsing (The Turtle and the Monkey) in Trubner’s Oriental Record in London.

See the press release of NBDB here.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s